Free Run

Today, after a couple of months in absence, I’m back at my blog. It feels good to be back, I don’t know if I’ll proceed blogging as I used to be (I’m not really sure of anything) but there’s a few things I’d like to write about:

The first of all is: Mylo Xyloto

This album really changed my perception of music, it feels like getting over the baroque period and opening my mind to a whole new dimension, maybe that’s the way how it was.. Maybe it wasn’t.. But I like to believe that’s the way it was.

By far, one of the best albums ever

I tend to listen to music by periods, I can’t just be one day listening something really cheerful and at the next second listen to heavy metal, in my view, that generates a emotional disorder, and it’s not having a closed mind, it’s just that I love to have the four stations divided into different stages of my life: Summer, autumn, winter and spring right inside my ears and heart. I enjoy having the cycle of music in my hears over and over again, I feel it makes me grow as a musician and as a heart-loving human being. And by now, this album made it’s job perfectly by setting a happy stage in my life, too bad it lasted a couple of days before I got tired of listening the whole thing over and over again.. So I’d recommend to variate the albums and songs you hear, and not just focus in one during a long period of time or at the end, your ears may feel those songs as harassing, and that’s not good.

But returning to the album, I believe it is great for waking up in the morning with a great mood, for your workout, to try to revalue your life as the most valuable thing you have, and overall.. To just enjoy a peaceful and life-filled music.

Here’s a great track from the album

The next thing I’d like to talk about is workout, mainly jogging:

I’ve been recently experiencing what it feels to actually have a good cardio workout, running during 45 minutes across my town hurts like heaven, I wouldn’t say it’s a hobby, I’d rather call it a preparation for a better lifestyle, ’cause that, complemented with a healthy diet has putted me into a more active way of developing my daily routine. My body feels simply fine! It’s highly recommendable to spend a couple of minutes per day working out, I try to combine it too with abs workout, sit ups and weightlifting, a great and easy routine.

But well, how does these two things combine? Cause obviously, they can!

First of all, the music acts as a motivator, a huge HUGE motivator! It improves considerably your performance while you’re exercising (just look at this research about music and workout by Dr. Costas Karageorghis and David-Lee Priest from the Brunel University http://www.thesportjournal.org/article/music-sport-and-exercise-update-research-and-application ) it says something about bpm’s (the speed of the songs in beats per minute) but I personally believe that it is not about it, it’s about the emotions transmitted from one side of your music player all the way to your ears, those waves are the ones that motivates you to go beyond and give you one more breath when you feel you’re done, it runs like adrenaline when you realise that music is the key to impulse your body to go wherever and however it needs to go.

The limitation comes when you realise that going faster and with a higher resistance is limited by a process with different stages, because your body and your muscles must develop itself appropriately in order to improve: Your very own body sets the boundaries with your health. And yes, jogging is an awesome cardio workout 🙂 Go little by little and you’ll feel the difference in a matter of days. Extremely high recommended!

Marcelo

By the way, I’m thinking my next entry could be about the ego and how it affects the persons that surrounds you, it sounds interesting.. Ciao!

Leave a Reply

